Degree Symbol on Compass

We use a compass as a primary device for navigation and direction-finding on the surface of the Earth. We can use standard dry magnetic portable compasses or our smartphones. Compasses have four cardinal points: north (N), east (E), south (S), and west (W). Some compasses also display 360 marks called degrees that can be used instead of or in addition to the needle which always points north. North indicates 0° (0 degrees). 90 degrees is East, south is 180°, and west is 270°.